Arnold, Hall, Herschel elected

Republican candidates cruised to easy re-election in the race for three county commissioner seats, while Democratic candidate Judy Herschel collected the third highest vote total, unseating four-term incumbent MaryAnn Warren.

Unofficial election results saw incumbent Elizabeth Betsy Arnold claim the highest number of votes at 5,985, in her bid for a second term.

Alan Hall was elected to his third term as commissioner with 5,967 votes.

Herschel received 3,194 votes, while Warren’s numbers came in at 3,057.

Out of 25,203 registered voters in the county, 10,369 votes were cast in the Nov. 5 election – a voter turn-out rate of 41.1 percent.

In other countywide uncontested races, Marion O’Malley received 8,918 in her election bid to the District Attorney position. O’Malley was appointed to the post in 2018 following the death of DA Robert Klein in 2017.

Also unopposed, Treasurer Jason Miller collected 8,410 votes to continue on to a second term; Michelle Estabrook received 8,650 in her bid for a second term as Register/Recorder.

Coroner Anthony Conarton received 8,650 votes. The race was also unopposed.

There will be two new county auditors. Richard Suraci was re-elected with 5,147 votes. He will be joined by Bob DeLuca who posted 6,852 votes and Rick Ainey who garnered 3,620 votes.

Suzanne Brainard was re-elected to the Magisterial District Judge position, serving in Clifford District Court with 2,510 votes.

Many of the municipal race results will be determined by the returns board, which began meeting on Friday. The board reviews write-in votes.

In other municipal races:

Gibson Twp.: Incumbent supervisor Leonard Bartkus lost his bid for re-election to Richard Marcho, 239-141.

Liberty Twp.: Douglas Sivers received 178 votes to Lori Raub’s 120 in a four-year supervisor race.

Oakland Boro: In a four-way race for three council seats, top vote getters were Brad Krayeski (89), Gary Boughton (75), and Patrick Gall (69). John Agler received 60 votes. In a race for three 2-year seats on the council, three names appeared on the ballot and 126 write-in votes were cast in the race.

Susquehanna Community School Board, Region 1: Voters could choose up to two names on the ballot. Kimberly Tuttle received 224 votes, while Jamie Koziol 195; and Amanda Cook received 182 votes.

Be the first to comment on "Arnold, Hall, Herschel elected"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.