County treasurer resigns effective May 2

Susquehanna County Treasurer Jason Miller resigned from the elected post to return to the private sector. His resignation is effective May 2. Miller has been serving as the county treasurer for the past six years.

Miller issued a release last week ahead of the meeting of the Susquehanna County Commissioners, where he also offered comments in his formal announcement of his resignation.

“For the past six years, it has really been an honor to serve my fellow residents of this county,” said Miller. “It is with great gratitude, and a little bit of sorrow, that I have decided to resign from this elected position, effective May 2, to further my growth and career in the private sector.”

As he thanked county residents and the community for their support, he also offered, “I have had the opportunity to meet so many great people and work with so many great people, as well. I’m proud to say I made it a point to serve everyone with honor and integrity, no matter what their political affiliation might be.”

Commissioner Elizabeth Arnold said, “Jason, you’ve done a great job and we’re really going to miss you. We’re sorry to see you go but wish you well with your future and career.”

Commissioners Alan Hall and Judith Herschel echoed Arnold’s sentiments.

In his release, Miller said, “I leave behind an office that has seen several upgrades in technology during my tenure, records that are complete and accurate, and a well-organized office. I am also leaving behind three amazing friends whom I have had the privilege of working with, my deputies Rebecca, Sandy, and Leighanna.  My deputies have been cross trained in all aspects of the office so I know, without a doubt, that the transition will be seamless, and services will not be interrupted.”

In addition to the elected position of county treasurer, Miller also served as the county’s tax claim director.

The commissioners acknowledged the appointment of Rebecca Preston Wescott to the position of Acting Treasurer and Acting Tax Claim Director. She will retain the title of First Deputy Treasurer/Tax Claim, effective May 2.

At the Wednesday, March 23, meeting, the commissioners reappointed Roger Doolittle to the Susquehanna County Economic Development Advisory Board, effective through Dec. 31.

The following people were appointed to serve on the Tick Borne Diseases Task Force, effective March 30 – March 30, 2023: Commissioner Arnold, Jane Osborne, Jacqueline Hart, Phyllis Konstas, and Peter Baumann.

The commissioners acknowledged the hiring of Lee Rowan to the position of County Detective/Substitute School Resource Officer, effective March 23, per the recommendation of District Attorney Marion O’Malley.

The commissioner approved a resolution requesting a statewide local share assessment grant in the amount of $47,615 for the D&H Rail Trail Safety Enhancement Project.

Several proclamations were also issued:

*April as Safe Digging Month;

*April as Child Abuse Prevention Month;

*April as Sexual Assault Awareness Month;

*April 10-16 as Public Safety Telecommunicators Week;

*and a proclamation in Support for Mental Health Services in Susquehanna County.

Be the first to comment on "County treasurer resigns effective May 2"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.